catherinefaye

#NoLimits

As expected, I’ve been getting the “milestone questions” of life.

So you’re still in school?

No, I actually just graduated early.

Oh, congratulations! Now what? What was your degree in? Where are you working? Where are you living? Who are you dating? When are you getting married?

…the questions will continue. I understand it’s out of love and concern, but when you don’t always know what is next, the questions can become intimidating. So to keep everyone up-to-date and keep my writing fresh, I created my blog site.

My first two weeks have been jam-packed with a variety of tasks at Southwest Airlines! I have been able to meet one-on-one with almost everyone in the communications department to learn more about their position on the team and how I can help during my internship. Everyone has been so welcoming and helpful—I’m already in LUV!

Here is a little about the projects I have been working on so far…

Sundance Film Festival

  • I created topic cards for a happy hour with conversation-starter-questions about movies.
  • I accompanied a co-worker and co-intern Lauren to purchase and package 50s flight attendant and pilot uniforms for the servers to wear at the happy hour.

SPIRIT Magazine

  • I have been assigned a Star Story! I will interview a star Employee (from LAX) and write a feature story for the July edition.

Diet Dr. Pepper

  • I helped staff a launching event to celebrate DDP back on flight with SWA in the headquarters lobby with DDP representatives as well as members from SWA marketing team. P.S: there are 4,500 employees just at the headquarters office that I work at, crazy!
  • I also helped staff the same event at Love Field (freebies at both events included: t-shirts, hats, lanyards, pens, DDP, and opportunity to win a year supply of DDP).

ATL Inauguration

  • I created leadership reports for 6 stations, including the new ATL station for CEO Gary Kelly. I compiled screenshots of all managers at each station with their department, title, name, phone number, and picture.
  • I have been invited to travel with SWA communications team Feb. 11-13 to help staff events to launch flights in-and-out of ATL.

I am a part-time intern so I am only working Mondays, Wednesdays and half day Fridays. I wanted to get another part-time job, but I am glad I didn’t because now I am able to volunteer to travel for work as well. Thankfully, Mom and Dad are still helping out and the internship is only until April 18. There is a great possibility that my internship could lead to a full-time position, so keep your fingers crossed!

As I’ve been meeting people around the office I have learned that the infamous Herb Kelleher (co-founder) and Colleen Barrett’s office is right down the hall from me. I have been told that Herb is still as crazy as ever and that he would kiss me if he saw me, yikes! Maybe I will get to run into them to introduce myself.

On my time off I have been exploring Dallas and spending time with my roommate Kelsey and cat, Lily. As of this Friday I am now eligible for “non-rev” flights, which basically means I get to fly for free on standby! I am excited to make my visits to see all of you, as well as going to places I have never been (Orange County, Las Angeles, San Francisco, San Jose, NYC, St. Louis, etc.)!

Out of all of the places, I’m starting out small as recommended—I’m going to Lubbock! Ha, I know I just left, but I need to practice flying in-and-out of a small airport on my own, standby. It is also my old roommate’s (Sydney!) birthday so it will be good to celebrate with college friends! And of course I will get to see the Barbee crew: Ethan, Caroline, Honey, and Little T.

I am so very thankful to have landed the position at Southwest along with 58 other interns. For the spring semester there were more than 5,000 resumes submitted. There are interns in every department such as advertising, marketing, aviation, finance/accounting, etc. I have made a lot of new friends and travel buddies!

Any suggestions on where I should travel to next?

This entry was published on January 26, 2012 at 1:16 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “#NoLimits

  1. Caitlin Barbee on said:

    You’ll also get to see the other Barbee crew: LeAnn, Erin, and Caitlin. 🙂

  2. Emily Noble on said:

    Love it! Keep us updated, Catherine! I’m very excited for you.. Don’t forget I’m close by! 🙂

Leave a comment